Tuesday, March 11, 2008

Big East Blogger Awards

Big East Blogger’s Player of the Year: Luke Harangody, Notre Dame.

Luke was the unanimous selection among the voters as the Player of the Year in the Big East.

Big East Bloggers 2007-2008 All-Big East Teams (note, the Player of the Year is NOT included):

1st Team:
AJ Price, Connecticut
Roy Hibbert, Georgetown
Sam Young, Pittsburgh
Kentrell Gransberry, South Florida
David Padgett, Louisville

2nd Team:
Joe Alexander, West Virginia
Brian Laing, Seton Hall
Donte Greene, Syracuse
Deonta Vaughn, Cincinnati
Jeff Adrien, Connecticut

3rd Team:
Kyle McAlarney, Notre Dame
Hasheem Thabeet, Connecticut
Jonathan Wallace, Georgetown
Scottie Reynolds, Villanova
Terrence Williams, Louisville

4th Team:
DeJuan Blair, Pittsburgh
Dominic James, Marquette
Jerel McNeal, Marquette
Draelon Burns, DePaul
Paul Harris, Syracuse

Honorable Mention:
Arinze Onuaku, Syracuse
Lazar Hayward, Marquette
Jonny Flynn, Syracuse
Alex Ruoff, West Virginia

Big East Bloggers Freshman of the Year: Donte Greene, Syracuse

Big East Bloggers All-Freshman Teams (note, Freshman of the Year NOT included):

1st Team:
DeJuan Blair, Pittsburgh
Jonny Flynn, Syracuse
Dominique Jones, South Florida
Dar Tucker, DePaul
Jeremy Hazell, Seton Hall

2nd Team:
Mac Koshwal, DePaul
Austin Freeman, Georgetown
Corey Fisher, Villanova
Justin Burrell, St. John’s
Corey Chandler, Rutgers

3rd Team:
Mike Coburn, Rutgers
DJ Kennedy, St. John’s
Corey Stokes, Villanova
Antonio Pena, Villanova
Gilbert Brown, Pittsburgh
Rick Jackson, Syracuse

Big East Blogger’s Coach of the Year: Mike Brey, Notre Dame

Big East Blogger’s Defensive Player of the Year: Hasheem Thabeet, Connecticut

Big East Blogger’s Most Improved Player: Sam Young, Pittsburgh and Luke Harangody, Notre Dame

Big East Blogger’s Big East Tournament Favorite: Louisville

Big East Blogger’s 2008-2009 Early Conference Favorite: Connecticut

Notre Dame, Syracuse and Louisville round out the Top four teams for 2008-2009 according to the Big East Blogger’s. Georgetown, Pittsburgh, Marquette and West Virginia were other teams receiving votes as potential members of next year’s top three Big East teams in an informal early poll.

Congrats to Luke and Kyle, of course. Coach Brey also getting much deserved recognition. Official awards should come out on bigeast.org sometime today or tomorrow.

Check out Bryan's site for some more great BET analysis.

Congrats to Luke and Kyle, of course. Well deserved for both.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

The real things have been announced over at BigEast.org. Harangody as POY, of course, and Brey got Coach of the Year. Not a bad day for the Irish.